Happy Thanksgiving Canada!!! and the rest of the world!


It’s Thanksgiving today!!!

Hello everyone I wanted to wish all of my great friends and readers a wonderful Thanksgiving!

What a fantastic day to share with others what this blog is all about🙂

It is time for you to share with everyone what you are grateful for? What are you grateful for? This is the day to share it with the world!

I am really grateful for having my family in Canada and in Norway. I am grateful for all the openness and help I have received from all the great Canadians I have met the last 2 years🙂 What welcoming and open people.

I am grateful for being able to share all the love in my heart with my beautiful wife and her family. And share the attitude of gratitude with people around me🙂

How did Thanksgiving day come to happen?

In Canada

Main article: Thanksgiving (Canada)

The Order of Good Cheer, 1606by Charles William Jefferys, (1925).

The origins of the first Thanksgiving in Canada goes back to an explorer,Martin Frobisher, who had been trying to find a northern passage to the Pacific Ocean. Frobisher’s Thanksgiving celebration was not for harvest, but for homecoming. He had safely returned from an unsuccessful search for the Northwest Passage, avoiding the later fate of Henry Hudson and Sir John Franklin. In the year 1578, Frobisher held a formal ceremony in Newfoundlandto give thanks for surviving the long journey.[3] Years later, the tradition of a feast would continue as more settlers began to arrive to the Canadian colonies.[4]

Oven roasted turkey

The origins of Canadian Thanksgiving can also be traced to the French settlers who came to New France with explorer Samuel de Champlain in the early 17th century, who also took to celebrating their successful harvests. The French settlers in the area typically had feasts at the end of the harvest season and continued throughout the winter season, even sharing their food with the indigenous peoples of the area.[5]Champlain had also proposed for the creation of the Order of Good Cheerin 1606.[6]

As many more settlers arrived in Canada, more celebrations of good harvest became common. New immigrants into the country, such as merda the Irish, Scottish and Germans, would also add their own traditions to the harvest celebrations. Most of the U.S. aspects of Thanksgiving (such as the turkey) were incorporated when United Empire Loyalists began to flee from the United States during the American Revolution and settled in Canada.[5]

 

Share one thing you are grateful for today:

Share one thing to be thankful for today with us here, with your spouse, partner, family, friends or strangers. Just say I am Thankful for the sun shining on us today or I am so grateful for that you are in my life.

Lets celebrate together a day of Thankfulness and Gratitude with the world and show how much we appreciate each other being on this planet together🙂 So share that wonderful Dinner tonight with friends and family and make them aware of how much they mean to your life🙂

“Gratitude is the fairest blossom which springs from the soul.” -Henry Ward Beecher

John Thore Stub Sneisen(c)

Please comment below with what you are Grateful for:

3 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving Canada!!! and the rest of the world!

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to find any individual with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this website is something that’s needed on the internet, someone with a little originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  2. I?m impressed, I need to say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that?s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for something referring to this.

  3. I?d need to verify with you here. Which isn’t one thing I usually do! I take pleasure in studying a put up that may make folks think. Also, thanks for allowing me to remark!

Leave a Reply

