Happy Thanksgiving from Canada to the US


Happy Thanksgiving

What an amazing day we have today! Snowing🙂 I am so Grateful for Snow it is the best thing I know. I use it for Snowball fights, warm cozy nights around the bonfire, Cross Country skiing and Downhill skiing🙂

To much fun with snow. Since it’s Thanksgiving today I thought it would be appropriate to write a little post since this blog is about gratitude🙂

We have already had thanksgiving day here in Canada, but my fellow Americans and people around the world who are celebrating especially to all my friends and family I want to say I am very Grateful for that you are alive and healthy. Especially a big gratitude to all of the people that got hit by Sandy for a couple of weeks ago, you guys are deep in my heart with gratitude for you being alive and well.

A grateful thank you to all my readers and followers as well🙂

Gratitude and Thanksgiving

So why is Gratitude and giving thanks a part of this day?

Here is a little bit of history for you🙂

History

Prayers of thanks and special thanksgiving ceremonies are common among almost all religions after harvests and at other times.[1] The holiday’s history in North America is rooted in English traditions dating from the Protestant Reformation. It also has aspects of a harvest festival, even though the harvest in New England occurs well before the late-November date of the holiday[1][2]

In the English tradition, days of thanksgiving and special thanksgiving religious services became important during the English Reformation in the reign of Henry VIII and in reaction to the large number of religious holidays on the Catholic calendar. Before 1536 there were 95 Church holidays, plus 52 Sundays, when people were required to attend church and forego work and sometimes pay for expensive celebrations. The 1536 reforms reduced the number of Church holidays to 27, but some Puritans, the radical reformers of their age, wished to completely eliminate all Church holidays, including Christmas and Easter. The holidays were to be replaced by specially called Days of Fasting or Days of Thanksgiving, in response to events that the Puritans viewed as acts of special providence. Unexpected disasters or threats of judgement from on high called for Days of Fasting. Special blessings, viewed as coming from God, called for Days of Thanksgiving. For example, Days of Fasting were called on account of drought in 1611, floods in 1613, and plague in 1604 and 1622. Days of Thanksgiving were called following the victory over the Spanish Armada in 1588, and following the deliverance of Queen Anne in 1705. An unusual annual Day of Thanksgiving began in 1606 following the failure of the Gunpowder Plot in 1605, and developed into Guy Fawkes Day.[3]

Friends and Family

Friends and family are usually the ones we spend thanksgiving with. It is for some the only time a year they either have time to get together or to meet because of long distances. I came to think about how much I miss my wonderful family and friends back in my home country Norway.

I haven’t seen them for over 3 years now, but this Christmas and New Years I finally get to see them all!!!!! I am so excited and thankful for my family and how much they mean to me. When you are gone from family and friends for such a long time you really get to feel the gratitude for having them in your life.

What about people we don’t know?

I think since it is Thanksgiving day we should not only be grateful for friends and family, but everyone you meet on the street. Why don’t do this today, ex. if you sit on the bus beside someone why don’t you tell them that you are grateful for them sharing a bus seat with you and being alive.

That would be such a great thing to say. I also think we should be grateful for all the people that are alive today on planet earth. I think if you pay gratitude forward it would spread like wildfire. Why don’t you tell 3 people how grateful you are for their presence in your life🙂

What do I have to be grateful for?

There is so much to be grateful for today🙂 I am grateful for my spouse, my family, friends, trees, water, snow, berries, clouds, wind, fire, smells, chairs, tables, lights, wine, rivers, our planet and everything on it🙂

There are a minimum of 1000 things to be grateful for in life🙂 So start making your 1000 list🙂

“If a fellow isn’t thankful for what he’s got, he isn’t likely to be thankful for what he’s going to get.” –Frank A. Clark

Happy Thanksgiving Day and all my grateful thoughts channeled to all of those who need the most to be appreciated🙂

John Thore Stub Sneisen(c)

Leave a Reply

